Hello my name is Rachel and I’m megalophobic…

Hello, my name is Rachel, and I’m megalophobic. I have a mild-ish case of this phobia, which is defined as a fear of large objects. Most sufferers of megalophobia are afraid of ships, planes, and statues, things that can move or look like they “should” move (so no buildings, usually). I don’t share the fear of ships and planes, I’m only afraid of large lifelike things–statues of people and animals (my fear also extends to full-body taxidermy animals). My case is not so severe. I can look at these things without crying, screaming, or running away, they just make me very, very uncomfortable and I feel jumpy and nervous in their presence. I’m also okay with looking at their pictures online. The largest statue I think I could feel comfortable around is Michelangelo’s David, which is around 17 ft tall, with the pedestal. To give you a better idea about megalophobia, here are some things that trigger this fear:

Things that have triggered my megalophobia:

  • Lincoln Memorial, Washington D.C.
  • Jefferson Monument,  Washington D.C.
  • Any taxidermy animal that’s bigger than a deer (especially full-body elephants, giraffes, polar bears, gorillas, buffalo, elk, whales, rhinos, etc.)
  • Dinosaur fossils, especially tyrannosauruses, triceratops, stegosauruses, and pterodactyls, if they’re suspended on the ceiling over my head
  • A large statue of the Egyptian god Horus in Pittsburgh’s Carnegie Museum.
  • Any oversized flags with peoples’ faces on them.

Things that I haven’t seen personally, but know would trigger my megalophobia:

  • Mt. Rushmore, South Dakota
  • Statue of Liberty
  • Yet-to-completed Crazy Horse Monument, South Dakota
  • Wat Pho Reclining Buddha
  • Mother Russia
  • Rio de Janeiro’s Christ the Redeemer
  • Amida Buddha
  • Spirit of Houston (if they ever build it)
  • Yan Huang Statues
  • Sphinx

Things that are common fears for sufferers of megalophobia, but do not scare me:

  • Planes/Helicopters
  • Trains
  • Large ships
  • Wind turbines
  • Huge trees
  • Blimps
  • Oversized kites
  • Monster trucks or any other large hauling trucks
  • Any structures not normally shaped (i.e., Disney’s Epcot globe)
  • Any structures that are made to look like oversized “normal” objects (like the “shoe” house, the store that looks like a giant guitar, etc.)
  • Overhangs
  • Large expanses of water or earth
  • Large murals
  • Big animals (I’m only afraid of “big” animals if they’re taxidermied. If they’re alive or just plain ol’ dead, I’m fine with them)
  • Cathedrals or any other building with abnormally high ceilings

I hate my megalophobia. I think it’s a pointless phobia, and kind of embarrassing, too. Believe me, I would “get over it” if I could. I’ve been trying some self-administered “exposure” therapy, and so far, I think I’ve been getting a little bit better…I’m at least not going to cry if I see a big statue.

This is a very “out-there” kind of phobia, and I’ve never met anyone with it. If you’re a sufferer, please please please comment/contact me. I’m really interested in hearing about other megalophobics’ experiences.

UPDATE 8/12/2011: It’s great to see everyone’s responses to this post…it definitely is a comforting feeling to know you’re not alone with this fear! Thank you all for commenting on this, and I hope you’re all doing well with your particular phobia. Keep the comments coming so we can hopefully get the word out to more megalophobics that they’re not alone. (Also, I can’t believe I didn’t notice the typo in the title! Duh! Thanks for pointing it out, guys.)


More info on megalophobia:

http://phobias.about.com/od/phobiaslist/a/megalophobia.htm

